Food for Thought

I had a conversation with a friend today about diversity.  I have always thought of myself as a pretty accepting person.  I really try to relate to people as individuals without prejudging or making generalizations.  However, my friend made a comment that really made me stop and think.

She said that we often aren’t intentional about showing acceptance for all kinds of differences because our daily lives are rather insulated.  We tend to hang around those who think like us and look like us.  She commented that people who are different tend to categorize folks in our society in two ways: the “in group” and the “others.”

I thought that I graduated from high school long ago where cliques were the main event. However, I suppose some things never change.  Is society really a microcosm of high school?  What a strange concept.

Anyway, our conversation made me stop and think.  I feel like I am accepting, but do I create a culture of acceptance around me?  Maybe, I need to be more visible with my actions.  I plan to do my part to transition the “in group” to the “all group.”

5 thoughts on “Food for Thought

  1. We do tend to insulate ourselves with like minded people, our tribe. But we need to find places where we can take part in conversations where others’ opinions may differ. Bring back salons and dinner parties for conversations. Maybe this is what is wrong with politics–not accepting of others thoughts, ideas.

    Like

  2. Sonja Schulz says:

    YES! While I think it is important to have your safe place to land, your tribe, those who get you—I think it is equally important to practice purposeful & intentional inclusivity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

