Friends

Make new friends, but keep the old

One is silver and the other gold.

We are all familiar with this jingle.  However, the essence of this message seems to transcend time.

I am someone who enjoys meeting new people and making new friends.  I would consider myself an extrovert.  However, when push comes to shove, it is my older friends that I lean on in times of need.

A couple of my dear friends are from first grade.  When you have grown up together and persevered through childhood, adolescence, and adulthood, you know your buddies so well.  We may not see each other for quite a while, but as soon as we are back together, it is like old times again.

For example, I got together with some grade school friends on a Friday after school for drinks.  Within five minutes, we were transported back to 6th grade reminding each other of stories from the past, while splitting a gut from laughter.  We know that we can call on each other any time, and we will come running.

It may seem a little odd, but my locker partner throughout our high school years (By the way, I always let her have the top shelf, while I took the bottom) is currently my administrative assistant.  No matter what each day brings, we know that we will face it together.  Ma-di knows my strengths and flaws and vice-versa.  We have complete trust in each other.  It is so comforting to know that there is a true friend at work to always count on.

So, it isn’t that new friends are less important in our lives.  I just think that old friends know your history, have lived through many of your mistakes, and helped you problem-solve for decades.  There is little mystery and few surprises.  It may sound a little dull.  However, in the words of J.R.R. Tolkien, “All that is gold does not glitter.”  Tried and true friends don’t need to be glitzy; but they should be cherished.

 

5 thoughts on “Friends

  1. It is easier to depend upon old friends since they know you so well. I have found that the friends you have at the moment serve a purpose. They may not always be in your life but there’s a reason they are there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

