Tempting Fate!

March #SOLC17 Day 21

sol[1]I spend a great deal of time in the car driving on expressways.  My daily work commute, weekend activities, and visits to my mom involve a lot of back and forth between the city and the suburbs.

More than ever, I am starting to feel like I am tempting fate with each trip.  How can it be that so many drivers have forgotten the rules of the road?  Are texting and surfing on phones more important than being aware of the vehicles around you?

When I pull up alongside a car and see a person looking down at their phone, I usually toot my horn to bring them back to the task at hand – DRIVING!

I realize that people have places to go and things to do.  However, is their destination more important than mine?  Isn’t it a priority to arrive in one piece?  In the last couple of years, I have been rear-ended twice.  Both times the driver behind me was looking at his phone.

In a world where multi-tasking is routine, it is important to remember that some things need our full attention, and one of those is – DRIVING!

 

7 thoughts on “Tempting Fate!

  1. My father used to beep his horn at people texting, but he’s tired of being flipped the bird. Not only are people so arrogant to believe they can text and drive, they are rude when called on this inappropriate behavior! Ugh! Humans! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing with us today!

    Like

  2. Yes, it’s truly scary the number of things people try to accomplish while driving. There have been so many senseless accidents. There are great apps to limit some phone features while driving.

    Like

  3. I agree with you in regards to drivers. I try to stick with back roads just to avoid them, but when you can’t it is a matter of luck. I tried listening to a book and that seemed to keep me calm and wanting to be away from other cars.

    Like

Leave a Reply

