Our Roses

March #SOLC17 Day 22

sol[1]

We all have our favorite books.  One of mine is The Little Prince.  Actually, my best memory of reading it was in my high school religion class.  I chose it as the story that I would analyze and share my interpretations of the words of Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

I don’t remember the details of my report or what grade I received.  However, I did walk-away from that exercise having a new perspective on the value of commitment and patience for those individuals that we care about.

“People where you live,” the little prince said, “grow five thousand roses in one garden… yet they don’t find what they’re looking for…  And yet what they’re looking for could be found in a single rose, or a little water…”

“Of course, an ordinary passerby would think my rose looked just like you. But my rose, all on her own, is more important than all of you together, since she’s the one I’ve watered. Since she’s the one I put under glass, since she’s the one I sheltered behind the screen. Since she’s the one for whom I killed the caterpillars (except the two or three butterflies).  Since she’s the one I listened to when she complained, or when she boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing at all. Since she’s my rose.”

The author’s lines about a garden of roses makes me think about the abundance of people in the world.  From afar, everyone looks pretty similar.  So, what makes certain folks so special in our own lives?  Of course, blood plays a role.  We don’t choose our family.  However, we do feel a special bond with some relatives more than others.

There are some friends and family members that we will protect from physical and emotional harm at all costs.  Even if we don’t agree on some issues in private, we will defend each other in public.

There are those for whom we overlook their faults because the gifts they bring to us are so much more important.  In fact, their ability to overlook our faults and misgivings time after time is rather spectacular.  We can even spend long periods of time in silence, yet we clearly know each other’s thoughts; therefore, words are unnecessary.

My favorite lines from Antoine de Saint-Exupery are when he wrote, “It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.  The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or touched, they are felt with the heart.”  More than 40 years after that religion class, I still stop and think about his words.

After all, what we love most about life is not our possessions or accolades, it is the care and compassion that we feel from others.   I am so grateful for those who treat me like their “rose under the glass.”  Moreover, I need to remember that what I appreciate most can be found in a single rose and a little water.

7 thoughts on “Our Roses

  1. Sonja Schulz says:

    This is a gorgeous post! It has been far too long since I’ve read this lovely book—putting it back on my TBR pile. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this. From the title, I was expecting to read about a rose garden or rose bush in your yard. So this thoughtful reflection was a great surprise. You hav us all wanting to read the book, to find treasured quotes of our own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

